Welcome to the Ottawa Curling Club


    The ice plant goes on this Friday September 5.

    front facade


    I know I know... ice is still the furthest thing from your mind.

    League play begins MONDAY SEPTEMBER 29TH.

    More news will be forthcoming about practice ice once conditions are known. STAY TUNED.



    The annual meeting of the Ottawa Curling Club Limited will take place on Tuesday September 23 at 7 p.m.

    All members are invited to learn more about the activities of the corporation as well as rekindling friendships perhaps that have lapsed over the summer months.


    To help rekindle those friendships there will be complimentary wine and cheese for all.

    See you then.




    Ray Jones, (pictured in the middle) longtime OCC member, is leaving Ottawa for a new opportunity in his home province of Saskatchewan.

    Ray moved here for work many years ago and threatened to move back home ever since! He liked the Ottawa and the city and remained here.

    Ray curled in everything and was introduced to the OCC when he read about the club's 150th anniversay bonspiel in 2001. He is also the 2 times national Aboriginal curling champion.

    Ray leaves town for Saskatchewan next week where he will be the financial manager at the world reknowned Wanuskewin Heritage Park in Saskatoon.


    CLARK, Hart Duncan
    Peacefully on August 17, 2014, shortly after celebrating his 100th birthday with family and friends. Born in Winnipeg on July 30, 1914 to Frederick and Edith Clark. Predeceased by his beloved wife Lenore, his cherished sister Isabel Winkler and his dear daughter-in-law Patricia. He will be sorely missed by sons Terry (Sue), Alan (Carolyn), David (Alfie) and John (Lindsay) and his daughter Barb. He is fondly remembered by his ten grandchildren, Scott (Sandra), Shannon (Tim), Steve, Tanya, Andrew, James, Siân (Gator), Ian (Meryl), Josh and Sandy. He was always pleased to see his six great-granddaughters, Melissa, Rebecca, Kayla, Bella, Mya and Sadie. A graduate of the University of Manitoba (1935), he was awarded a Rhodes Scholarship and pursued studies in mathematics at Merton College, Oxford (1937-40). He served with distinction in the Royal Navy as Temporary Experimental Officer, in Edinburgh (1940-43) and San Francisco (1943-45), with responsibilities for installing, maintaining and repairing degaussing equipment on Canadian, British and Allied vessels. Upon returning to Canada, he taught briefly at the University of Manitoba and Carleton University. He embarked on a lifelong career in the Canadian public service in 1947, and while he officially retired in 1979, he continued to work into his nineties. He played a key role in drafting legislation that established the Canada Pension Plan, Old Age Security, universal health care, and pension plans for parliamentarians, the Canadian Armed Forces and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. Dad was a member of the Granite Curling Club (Winnipeg) and the Ottawa Curling Club for most of his adult life. He was a competitive amateur golfer and rowed for his college at Oxford. His deep respect for all people was matched by his love of animals, both at home and in the woods of Scattergood Lake. Sincere thanks to the staff of the Perley and Rideau Veterans' Health Centre for their endless compassion and tireless support. Visitation will be held at the Pinecrest Visitation Centre, 2500 Baseline Road on Thursday, August 28 from 7 to 9 p.m. and on Friday, August 29 from 1 p.m. until time of the funeral service in the chapel at 3 p.m. Memorial donations to the charity of your choice would be appreciated. Online condolences may be made at


© Ottawa Curling Club 2014